Fun with friends

Last week I went to the Gyeongbokgung area of Seoul with classmates. There were five of us total, all from different places (China, Taiwan, Japan, France, and me from Canada/USA) so we all tried our best to communicate using Korean. We went to a famous tteokbokki (spicy rice cakes) restaurant and also walked around exploring the area. IMG_4204 IMG_4203 There were so many little shops and alley ways. I thought this one shop that sold modern hanbok (traditional Korean clothing) was really neat. IMG_4210 IMG_4209 IMG_4212

Modern Hanbok

Modern Hanbok

We also got to see a performance in front of Gyeongbokgung palace. There is a 10 minute “guard duties” ceremony where people dressed in Joseon Dynasty clothing perform what guards during that era would have done on a daily basis. The palace is HUGE and truly beautiful. I have yet to go inside, but I definitely want to see the interior. IMG_4230 IMG_4229 IMG_4224 IMG_4223

Pretty flowers outside the palace

Pretty flowers outside the palace

I had such a wonderful time with my classmates and I’ll have to visit Gyeongbokgung again soon image

2 thoughts on “Fun with friends

Leave a Reply

