Visiting Myeongdong

Last weekend I went to Myeongdong, a popular shopping district in Seoul. There are plenty of street stalls and shops selling everything from clothing to trinkets to makeup. Also, there are lots of restaurants and street food stands. I went to a restaurant on a second floor and had bibimbap, mixed vegetables and rice topped with red pepper paste. It’s one of my favorite Korean dishes, and it’s in most Korean restaurants for pretty cheap. This particular bibimbap had carrots, seaweed, beansprouts, zucchini, spinach, fern-brake, and radish. You mix it all together and it’s delicious! image

Bibimbap

Bibimbap

My friend got kimbap, pictured below. Our meals came with soup, kimchi, and yellow pickled radish.

IMG_4803

I didn’t do much shopping, but wandered around looking at all the shops. I did buy a pair of earphones from Artbox (a chain store in Asia), which was very needed after I accidentally stepped on my old headphones and broke them– oops.

Street in Myeongdong

Street in Myeongdong

Tall buildings

Tall buildings

View of Namsan Tower

View of Namsan Tower

After dinner we went to a popular chain cafe in Korea, Holly’s Coffee,  which seems to be everywhere in Seoul but I hadn’t tried it yet. It’s quite similar to Starbucks. I got a plain bagel which I enjoyed, and they also had an onion bagel which looked yummy, but I haven’t tried it.

IMG_4809

I almost forgot to take a picture and I took a bite, but the picture still turned out ok, right? I’m not sure why but I always take pictures of things I eat. Most of the photos on my camera are just food pictures.

Cool ceiling lamps

Cool ceiling lamps

I enjoyed Myeongdong, and it’s a great place to go shopping for souvenirs. Holly’s Coffee was good, but nothing super special. It’s a regular chain coffee shop. There are tons of unique cafes to check out in the area, including a dog cafe. If you want shopping and delicious food, Myeongdong’s the place to go! 😀

Leave a Reply

